

Reading Cycling Club The Colin Roberts Memorial 10mile time trial on the H10/1 Woolhampton – Thatcham course at 2pm on Sunday 28th July 2019

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations In the interests of your own safety; Cycling Time Trials strongly advises you to wear a hard shell helmet that meets an internationally accepted safety standard (a "safe" helmet)

- Organiser: Rob Thompson 5 Greenfields Road, Reading. RG2 8SF. 07885719750. <u>R081et@googlemail.com</u>
- Timekeepers: Maggie Smith North Hampshire RC & Christina Demetriu Reading CC
- **Event HQ:** Aldermaston C. of E. Primary School, Wasing Lane, Aldermaston.
- **Event Team:** Pat Brown, Luca Romita, Kevin Hurley, Jack Connah, Hannah Quay, Dave Gaida, Philip Chapple, Catherine Mann, Anthony Scott-Tucker, Matt Garra, Tim Maw, Andy Brady, Helene Brady, Sophie Gill, Mike Manning, Katy Thompson, Milly Thompson & Steph Bird.
- **Report:** A breezy but warm and sunny day was found by the riders certainly decent conditions if not perfect, and we steered clear of the heavy rain. There's very little relationship between finish position and bib number, so conditions likely remained similar throughout.

There was one unfortunate none finisher due to an accident on course.

Particular thanks are due to the time keepers, Maggie Smith (finish) and Christina Demetriou (start – and making her timekeeping debut!) kept things running smoothly and we were ably helped by a good number of volunteer helpers listed above, many thanks to them all – and turned out well to have a few more than were absolutely required. The competitors and event team fuelled and warmed with teas and coffees, special thanks to Steph Bird for manning the kitchen (and my daughter for some keen washing up when mugs were running short!).

The tandem event had 2 entries, won by Ray and Wendy Bennett in a time of 23:59 beating David and Hannah Newman 27:10.

The solo event had 7 finishers inside 22 minutes. The winner was Chris Bartley (AS Test Team) in 19:03, believed to be a course record by some margin, he was nearly 1 minute ahead of second placed Ryan Davies (AS Test Team) in 20:01 and third placed James Cadman (Hounslow & District Whs) in 21:14.

In the women's event the winner was Anastasia Bowler (AS Test Team) with 22:39, Jen Magill (Reading CC) came in second in 23:40 who edged out third placed Jo Buckland (PDQ Cycle Coaching) 23:42.

It was close in the veterans, 9 riders with +5 minutes, the winner was Nicolas Philip Watts (North Hampshire RC) with +5:49, 2nd place Simon Bowler (AS Test Team) with +4:45, who just edged out Jo Buckland (PDQ Cycle Coaching) with +5:34. Best trike prize goes to Lez Young (Lincoln Wheelers CC) in 26:45 (+5:05

VTTA).

The team prize goes comfortably to AS Test Team (Chris Bartley, Ryan Davies & Simon Bowler), with a total of 1:02 (so nearly under the hour for all 3 combined). In fact they had 4 riders, and the times of any 3 of the 4 were good enough to comfortably win this prize.

Prizes will be sent out by post shortly.

Thank you to all the riders, I hope you enjoyed the event despite the incident. My special thanks go totimekeepers, helpers and marshals that contributed their eff ort to making the event run smoothly. I hope to see you all again next year.

Position overall	Rider	Club/Team	Time	VTTA	Bib	Notes
1	Chris Bartley	AS Test Team	19:03		70	
2	Ryan Davies	AS Test Team	20:01		60	
3	James Cadman	Hounslow & District Whs	21:14		15	
4	Simon Bowler	AS Test Team	21:18	05:45	50	
5	Jon Shillingford	Thames Velo	21:37		61	
6	Philip Watts	North Hampshire RC	21:44	05:49	25	
7	Peter Garnett	Swindon Road Club	21:48	05:01	30	
8	Stuart Gourley	Radeon-Cycology RT	22:02		26	
9	Eddie Allen	Redmon CC	22:14		40	
10	Jon Elliott	Maidenhead & District CC	22:18		5	
10	Nicolas Stagg	Hounslow & District Whs	22:18	04:22	35	
12	James Foster	High Wycombe CC	22:24	03:43	22	
13	Martin Attwood	Cowley Road Condors CC	22:37		55	
14	Stewart House	Arctic Aircon RT	22:39	04:15	6	
14	Anastasia Bowler	AS Test Team	22:39		41	
16	Peter Cottington	Bath Cycling Club	23:07	04:15	11	
17	Stu Carver	North Hampshire RC	23:12	03:55	51	
18	Graham Giggs	Bath Road Club	23:13	02:49	29	
19	Stephen Moore	Kingston Wheelers CC	23:26	03:23	32	
20	Jen Magill	Reading CC	23:40	04:56	37	
21	Jo Buckland	PDQ Cycle Coaching	23:42	05:34	42	
22	Adriano Dos Santos	Swindon Road Club	23:54	02:13	66	
23	Ray & Wendy Bennett	Reading CC	23:59		1	
24	Robert Barrett	Westerley Cycling Club	24:02	04:37	53	
25	Paul Cooper	Performance Cycles CC	24:06	03:16	23	
26	Alan Allcock	Didcot Phoenix CC	24:20	03:46	21	
27	Vinh Lam	Serpentine Running Club	24:42	01:20	17	
28	Richard Williams	Farnham RC	24:43	05:16	62	
29	Roger Taylor	Frome and District Whs.	24:50	04:42	72	
30	Marc Allen	Swindon Road Club	24:57	02:06	13	
31	Katie Simmonds	Horsham Cycling	25:10		43	
32	Mark Montgomery	Tamar Velo	25:11	01:06	14	
33	Joy Payne	Amersham Road CC	25:12	05:04	46	
34	Adrian Feek	Bath Road Club	25:21	01:33	36	
35	John Allen	Redmon CC	25:25	02:08	7	
36	Samantha Messenger	Bicester Millennium CC	25:36	03:16	38	
37	Robert Hutchinson	Bristol South Cycling Club	25:42	02:39	18	
38	Stephen Messenger	Bicester Millennium CC	25:46	01:03	24	
39	Alan Parfrey	Phoenix Velo	26:05	01:23	10	INC. LATE START OF 1:15
40	Bruce Mcmichael	Hounslow & District Whs	26:06	00:52	28	
41	Arja Scarsbrook	Bush Healthcare CRT	26:17	05:24	47	
42	Jorj James	Maidenhead & District CC	26:18	00:45	27	
43	John Beaven	1st Chard Wheelers	26:21	01:24	33	
44	Mary-jane Hutchinson	Bristol South Cycling Club	26:42	03:34	44	
45	Lez Young (tricycle)	Lincoln Wheelers CC	26:45	05:05	57	TRIKE
46	David & Hannah Newman	Westerley Cycling Club	27:10		3	
47	David Hanbury	Crabwood CC	27:22	02:10	73	

48	Geoff Booker	Oxonian CC	27:26	05:28	63	TRIKE
49	Robert Jolliffe	New Forest CC	27:40	00:50	58	
50	Rachel Green	Cheltenham & County CC	27:44	01:59	48	
51	Paul Shuttleworth	Team Shuttle	27:50	00:16	54	
52	Nicolas Schiettecatte	Middlesex RC	27:52	-01:03	68	
53	Steve Davies	Addiscombe CC	28:20	00:01	8	
54	Clair Parfrey	Phoenix Velo	28:53	00:45	49	
55	Gary Guntrip	A5 Rangers CC	29:24	01:09	64	TRIKE
56	Les Gardner	Maidenhead & District CC	29:47	-00:27	74	
57	Spencer Hadawau	RIPCOR	31:00		12	INC. LATE START OF 8:59
58	Bob Brabbins	Somerset Road Club	31:02	-00:49	9	
59	Andrew Avis	Kingston Phoenix RC	33:23	-02:39	69	TRIKE
60	Brian James	Brighton Mitre CC	33:41	02:03	34	